Structure of the education system

Schooling is mandatory in Luxembourg as of the age of 4 and until the age of 16. It covers a total of at least 12 years in primary and secondary education.

Primary education is subdivided into four cycles:

  • cycle 1 for children aged between 4 and 5. A first year of early education as of the age of 3 is available but not mandatory;
  • cycle 2 for children aged between 6 and 7;
  • cycle 3 for children aged between 8 and 9;
  • cycle 4 for children aged between 10 and 11.

Secondary education is subdivided into two levels:

  • classical secondary education, covering seven years and leading to the secondary school leaving diploma, preparing mostly for university studies;
  • general secondary education, covering various training options extending over six to eight years based on the orientation chosen by the student, including vocational training.

Luxembourg education offers, at each level, specific measures and classes for the welcoming an schooling of foreign students.

Schooling is also mandatory for children and young people with specific educational needs. They are integrated into regular schools or will attend an institution or service for differentiated education.

The aim of vocational training is to provide professional qualifications at the level of high schools or to assist students already holding a professional degree to adapt or extend their skills to the economic evolution and progress.

Adult education provides training options adapted to adult students, either through continuing vocational training, subjects of general interest or courses leading to the national diplomas and certificates (back-to-education option / 2e voie de qualification).

The Luxembourg education system is essentially characterised by its plurilingual tradition, which explains the focus on languages.

You will find further details in this overview of the education system.


Last update