Transition from primary education to secondary education

The orientation procedure from elementary to secondary education starts as of the first year of cycle 4. Parents are involved in the decision-making process. The class teacher submits them a first prognosis as well as exhaustive information on the available classical and general secondary education options. At the end of cycle 4, parents and the class teacher express a joint decision concerning the orientation.

The role of the individual exchanges

As of the first year of cycle 4, individual exchanges (entretiens individuels) are held between the class teacher and the pupil’s parents – there are three exchanges in total at the end of each term – giving them the possibility to share their point of view on the future orientation of the pupil. A first prognosis is prepared by the class teacher during the third term. At the same time, the teacher provides  information on the available classical secondary education and general secondary education options, including specific options : European curricula in Luxembourg public schools, ALLET classes (German as a foreign language) as well as French-speaking, English-speaking and German-speaking classes, international baccalaureate in English or in French...

For the purpose of this orientation, two individual meetings are scheduled between the teacher and the parents. The first meeting takes place at the beginning of the third term of the second year of cycle 4 in the presence of the psychologist from the CePAS if the parents have opted for the latter’s intervention. Parents are informed about the results of the épreuves communes (tests at national level in cycle 4.2), the school results (intermediate report) and if applicable, the results of the tests conducted by the psychologist.

The next individual exchange is called orientation exchange (entretien d’orientation). Parents and the class teacher, who acts as the representative of the teaching team have an orientation meeting during which they will take a joint orientation decision.  In case of disagreement, the class teacher and the parents jointly submit a form acknowledging their disagreement to the president of the relevant committee.

The joint decision

At the end of cycle 4, the final orientation decision is taken jointly during the orientation meeting between the pupils’ parents and the class teacher. The orientation decision is based on: 

  • the work of the pupil during cycle 4 showing his/her skills, fields of interests and aspirations;
  • the results of the assessment of the skills acquired by the pupil ;
  • the results obtained at the épreuves communes organised at the national level by the ministry. They provide information about the pupil’s performance compared to the national average and about the development of the pupil’s skills against the expected competence levels at the end of this cycle ;
  • the information collected by the psychologist, if the parents have opted for the latter’s intervention.
In case of disagreement

In case of disagreement between the parents and the class teacher an orientation commission meets in order to find a solution. It is chaired by the primary education director and comprises a teacher of cycle 4, a teacher of the classical secondary education; a teacher of the general secondary education and a psychologist of the Centre psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires (CePAS). The pupil’s parents participate as invited members as well as the class teacher and the psychologist, if the parents have opted for the latter’s intervention.

High school enrolment

The documents required to enrol in high school (lycée) are:

  • a duly filled out enrolment form (handed by the class teacher); 
  • a copy of the final report of cycle 4 (bilan de fin de cycle);
  • a copy of the orientation decision (décision d’orientation);
  • an expanded residence certificate in the name of the student (to be requested from the communal administration);
  • a recent identity picture of the pupil.

The enrolment period extends from end of June until beginning of July.

Registration forms

 

Useful Links

Information for teachers

Further information

Press conference

Last update

Wechsel von der Grundschule in die Sekundarschule

Die Orientierungsprozedur (procédure d’orientation) für den Wechsel von der Grundschule in den klassischen oder allgemeinen Sekundarunterricht beginnt mit dem ersten Jahr des Lernzyklus 4. Sie bezieht die Eltern in den Entscheidungsfindungsprozess mit ein. Der Klassenlehrer des Schülers übermittelt ihnen eine erste Prognose und informiert sie über das Angebot des klassischen und allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts. Am Ende des 4. Lernzyklus nehmen Eltern und Klassenlehrer gemeinsam einen Orientierungsbeschluss.

Die Rolle der individuellen Gespräche

Ab dem ersten Jahr des 4. Lernzyklus treffen sich Eltern und Klassenlehrer zu individuellen Gesprächen – jeweils eins am Ende jedes Trimesters –, um sich über die zukünftige Orientierung des Schülers auszutauschen. Eine erste Prognose wird am Ende des 3. Trimesters vom Klassenlehrer erstellt. Er informiert die Eltern gleichzeitig über das Angebot des klassischen und allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts, einschließlich der spezifischen Klassen: europäischer Unterricht in der öffentlichen Schule in Luxemburg, ALLET-Klassen (Klassen mit Deutsch als Fremdsprache – allemand comme langue étrangère), Klassen mit Unterricht in französischer, englischer oder deutscher Sprache, das International Baccalaureate in englischer oder französischer Sprache.

Im Rahmen der Orientierung sind zwei individuelle Gespräche zwischen Lehrer und Eltern vorgesehen. Das erste Gespräch findet am Anfang des dritten Trimesters des zweiten Jahres des Lernzyklus 4 statt. Auf Wunsch der Eltern kann ein Psychologe des CePAS am Gespräch teilnehmen. Die Eltern werden über die Ergebnisse der allgemeinen Schulleistungstests, die schulischen Ergebnisse (Entwicklungs- und Lernbericht) und die Ergebnisse der gegebenenfalls vom Psychologen durchgeführten Tests informiert.

Beim folgenden individuellen Gespräch geht es um die Orientierung. Eltern und Klassenlehrer als Vertreter des pädagogischen Teams nehmen hier eine gemeinsame Entscheidung im Hinblick auf die zukünftige schulische Orientierung des Kindes. Kommen die zwei Parteien nicht zu einem gemeinsamen Schluss, so teilen sie das gemeinsam per Formular dem Präsidenten der betreffenden Kommission für Inklusion mit.

Die gemeinsame Entscheidung

Am Ende des 4. Lernzyklus treffen die Eltern zusammen mit dem Klassenlehrer anlässlich des Orientierungsgesprächs eine gemeinsame Entscheidung über die definitive Orientierung des Kindes. Diese Entscheidung gründet sich auf:

  • die Arbeiten des Schülers, die während des 4. Lernzyklus zustandekamen und die Lernfortschritte sowie die Interessen und Wünsche des Schülers dokumentieren;
  • die Ergebnisse der Bewertung der Lernfortschritte des Schülers;
  • die Ergebnisse des Schülers bei den auf nationaler Ebene vom Ministerium organisierten allgemeinen Schulleistungstests. Sie zeigen, wo der Schüler mit seinen Leistungen im Vergleich zum nationalen Schnitt steht und wo sich seine Leistungen im Vergleich zum Kompetenzniveau, das am Ende des Zyklus erreicht werden soll, situieren;
  • die vom Psychologen zusammengetragenen Informationen, falls die Eltern um diese Unterstützung gebeten haben.
Bei Uneinigkeit

Sind Lehrer und Eltern nicht einer Meinung, wird eine Orientierungskommission mit dem Fall befasst. Den Vorsitz führt der Direktor der Grundschule; die Kommission setzt sich zusammen aus einem Lehrer des 4. Lernzyklus, einem Lehrer des klassischen Sekundarunterrichts, einem Lehrer oder einem Lehrbeauftragten des allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts und einem Psychologen des CePas (Centre psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires). Die Eltern des Schülers, der Klassenlehrer und gegebenenfalls der von den Eltern zugezogene Psychologe werden zur Sitzung eingeladen.

Einschreibung in die Sekundarschule

Die folgenden Dokumente müssen bei der Einschreibung in die Sekundarschule vorgelegt werden:

  • ein vollständig ausgefülltes Einschreibeformular (beim Lehrer erhältlich);
  • eine Kopie des Abschlussberichts des Lernzyklus 4 (bilan de fin de cycle);
  • eine Kopie des Orientierungsbeschlusses (décision d'orientation);
  • eine auf den Namen des Schülers lautende erweiterte Wohnsitzbescheinigung (bei der Gemeindeverwaltung erhältlich);
  • ein rezentes Passfoto des Schülers.

Der Einschreibungszeitraum ist von Ende Juni bis Anfang Juli.

Einschreibung

 

Nützliche Links

Informationen für Lehrer

Informationen für Lehrer

Pressekonferenz 

  • Nouvelle procédure d’orientation à la fin du fondamental : Des parents plus impliqués, mieux informés (14 juin 2016)

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am