Promotion of reading

Through the pedagogic innovation division of the SCRIPT (Service de coordination de la recherche et de l'innovation pédagogiques et technologiques), the minister warrants the coordination of school libraries in primary education and the Centres de documentation et d’information (CDI - documentation and information centres) in high schools.

This coordination ensures:

  • organisation of regular activities such as the Journées du livre et du droit (book and law days) and Virliesconcours (annual reading competition)
  • coordination of the project Sacs d'histoires (bag of stories)
  • collaboration with external partners
  • supervision of school libraries.

Actions in schools

For all students

 Two actions were implemented both for primary schools and high schools:

  • the Journées du livre et du droit d’auteur (book and law days) : they are co-organised since 2007 by the Ministry every year around April 23rd, the World Book Day. More and more schools are participating;
  • the Journée européenne des langues (European Day of Languages), coordinated by the European centre for modern languages. Proclaimed by the Council of Europe in 2001, this day celebrates linguistic diversity and promotes language learning across Europe. In Luxembourg this event is used to encourage reading.

In primary education

 Sacs d’histoires (bag of stories)

Sacs d’histoires is a project that was launched in 2009 in order to increase awareness for languages, the school-family partnership and the promotion of reading. It mainly targets pupils in cycles 1 and 2.

In this project, children take home a “bag of stories”, which is prepared in school.

The bag includes:

  • a book for children with a translation in the mother tongue of the child ;
  • a CD with the story of the book read in the languages that are mostly spoken in class and some words of explanation for the parents.

Information on the project and a luxembourgish film on the subject can be found here: http://sacs.script.lu.

Virlies-Concours (annual reading competition)

Since 2006 the annual reading competition (Virlies-Concours) is organised for pupils in primary school of cycle 4. After the first stages of the competition at local and regional level, the finalists are invited to the grand national final where they read their text in front of a jury.

Resources for primary schools

Onilo

Since May 2020 the ministry offers teachers of primary education access to ONILO via www.onilo.de/luxemburg. This portal for learning and promoting reading presents pop-up books for pupils in cycles 1-3 as well as differentiated educational resources in connection with the stories in the books. Animations are specially designed to promote the understanding of written and spoken language and aim at conveying the pleasure of reading books. Books can be read in class or alone at home.

Antolin

On the portal for promoting reading www.antolin.de pupils of primary school can take part in online reading quizzes. For each book the portal offers multiple choice questions about the content. The site offers a very wide selection of books in German as well as some books in French. It also includes news articles for children. 

Courrier de l’Éducation nationale

Since October 2012 a special section of the monthly publication  Courrier de l’Éducation nationale - Leseförderung - Schulbibliothek - Medienerziehung  - provides information on websites, specialised literature and events related to reading. A children’s book is also presented under the section Coup de cœur.

From December 2015 to December 2017, each month a selection of children's books and other resources on the subject of fleeing from a country, migration and living together was proposed in this section.

Lies a fléi - de Katalog

The catalogue, published on an annual basis, lists children's books published in Luxembourgish or, as part of multilingual books, including a Luxembourgish version.

Resources for secondary education

In July 2020 the ministry and the National Library of Luxembourg (Bibliothèque nationale du Luxembourg) launched the initiative read-y, a leisure library for students in secondary education, accessible on smartphones, tablets and computers. The aim of this offer is to nurture a taste for reading among young people.

Read-y offers secondary school students free access to more than 20,000 e-books, mainly in English, German and French. It is also accessible to their teachers, as well as to the principals and librarians of secondary schools.

In practical terms, read-y can be accessed either via the Sora reading app or via the website ready.script.lu ; connection is provided over the IAM account.

Partnerships

The pedagogic innovation division collaborates with the following partners:

  • Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg (BnL) ;
  • Conseil supérieur des bibliothèques publiques ;
  • Zentrum fir politesch Bildung (ZpB).

Supervision of school libraries

Since 2009 legislation provides that each primary school offers a school library, managed by school teachers. The pedagogic innovation division advises and supervises activities proposed by teachers, procedures to manage libraries, exchanges of good practices, etc.

Useful Links

Journées du livre et du droit d’auteur

Journée européenne des langues

Enseignement fondamental

Lies a fléi – de Katalog

Virliesconcours

Bibliographies

 

Last update

Leseförderung

Über die Division de l’innovation pédagogique des SCRIPT (Service de coordination de la recherche et de l'innovation pédagogiques et technologiques) stellt das Ministerium die Koordination der Grundschulbibliotheken und der Dokumentations- und Informationszentren (Centres de documentation et d’information – CDI) der Sekundarschulen sicher.

Dazu gehört:

  • die Organisation regelmäßiger Aktivitäten wie die Journées du livre et du droit d’auteur (Tag des Buches und der Autorenrechte) und des Vorlesewettbewerbs
  • die Organisation des Projekts „Sac d’histoires“ (Geschichtensack)
  • die Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern
  • die Verwaltung der Schulbibliotheken

Aktionen in den Schulen

Für alle Schüler

Zwei Aktionen wenden sich sowohl an Grund- wie auch an Sekundarschulen:

In der Grundschule

Der Geschichtensack

Das Projekt „Sac d’histoires“ (Geschichtensack) wurde 2009 gestartet und soll zu mehr Offenheit für die Sprachen beitragen, die Partnerschaft Schule – Familie stärken und das Lesen fördern. Es wendet sich hauptsächlich an Kinder des Zyklus 1 und Zyklus 2.

Die Kinder bekommen einen „Geschichtensack“ mit nach Hause, der in der Schule gepackt wurde.

Im Sack sind u. a.:

  • ein Kinderbuch mit Übersetzung in der Muttersprache des Kindes;
  • eine Audio-CD, auf der die Geschichte in den Sprachen vorgelesen wird, die am häufigsten in der Klasse gesprochen werden, und einigen Erklärungen für die Eltern.

Informationen zum Projekt und einen luxemburgischen Film zum Thema finden Sie unter http://sacs.script.lu

Vorlesewettbewerb

Seit 2006 wendet sich der jährliche Vorlesewettbewerb (Virliesconcours) an die Kinder des Zyklus 4 der Grundschule. Nach ersten Etappen des Wettbewerbs auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene treffen sich die Finalisten in einem großen nationalen Finale, wo sie einer aufmerksamen Jury ihre Texte vorlesen.

Material für die Grundschule

Onilo

Seit Mai 2020 bietet das Bildungsministerium Grundschullehrern Zugang zur Website www.onilo.de/luxemburg. Dieses Portal zum Lernen und zur Leseförderung bietet animierte Bücher für Schülerinnen und Schüler der Zyklen 1-3 sowie differenziertes Unterrichtsmaterial in Zusammenhang mit den Erzählungen. Die Animationen sind speziell auf die Förderung des Lesens und des mündlichen Verstehens ausgerichtet und zielen somit darauf ab, die Freude am Lesen zu wecken. Die Bücher können in der Gruppe im Klassenzimmer oder allein zu Hause gelesen werden.

Antolin

Das Portal zur Leseförderung www.antolin.de ermöglicht es Schülerinnen und Schülern in der Grundschule, Lesequizze online zu absolvieren. Das Portal bietet für jedes Buch Multiple-Choice-Verständnisfragen an. Die Website bietet eine sehr große Auswahl an Büchern auf Deutsch sowie einige Bücher auf Französisch. Darüber hinaus enthält sie Texte zu aktuellen Themen für Kinder.

Courrier de l’Éducation nationale

 

Seit Oktober 2012 informiert die Rubrik „Leseförderung – Schulbibliothek – Medienerziehung“ des Courrier de l’Éducation nationale, kurz CEN, über Internetseiten, Fachliteratur und Veranstaltungen, die Lesen zum Thema haben. Zudem wird jedes Mal ein Kinderbuch als „Coup de coeur“ vorgestellt. Von Dezember 2015 bis Dezember 2017 wurde jeden Monat eine Auswahl an Kinderbüchern und anderes Material zum Thema Flucht, Migration und Zusammenleben in dieser Rubrik vorgestellt. Auch andere thematische Bibliographien wurden in den CEN aufgenommen.

 

Lies a fléi - de Katalog

Im Katalog, der jährlich herauskommt, sind die Kinderbücher aufgeführt, die auf Luxemburgisch veröffentlicht wurden, oder, im Fall mehrsprachiger Bücher, eine luxemburgische Version enthalten.

Material für die Sekundarschule

Im Juli 2020 starteten das Ministerium und die luxemburgische Nationalbibliothek die Read-y-Initiative, eine Freizeitbibliothek für Gymnasiasten, die über Smartphones, Tablets und Computer zugänglich ist. Dieses Angebot zielt darauf ab, bei jungen Menschen die Lust am Lesen zu fördern.

Read-y bietet Sekundarschülern kostenlosen Zugang zu mehr als 20.000 digitalen Büchern, hauptsächlich in Englisch, Deutsch und Französisch. Ihre Lehrer, aber auch Schulleiter und Bibliothekare haben ebenfalls Zugang zu ihnen.

Konkret erfolgt der Zugriff auf read-y entweder über die Sora-Lese-App oder über die Website ready.script.lu; die Verbindung wird mit dem IAM-Konto hergestellt.

Partnerschaften

Die Division de l’innovation pédagogique arbeitet mit folgenden Partnern zusammen:

  • Nationalbibliothek (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg - BnL)
  • Conseil supérieur des bibliothèques publiques
  • Zentrum fir politesch Bildung (ZpB).

Verwaltung der Schulbibliotheken

Seit 2009 sieht das Gesetz für jede Grundschule eine Bibliothek vor, die von den Lehrern der Schule verwaltet wird und die Aktivitäten in dem Rahmen vorsehen. Die Division de l’innovation pédagogique berät und unterstützt diese Lehrkräfte, indem sie ihnen Aktivitäten und Verwaltungsprozeduren für die Bibliothek vorschlägt, mit ihnen bewährte Praktiken austauscht usw.

Nützliche Links

Journées du livre et du droit d’auteur

Journée européenne des langues

Grundschule

Lies a fléi – de Katalog

Virliesconcours

Bibliographies

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am