Secondary education - classic and general

Depending on the pupil’s language skills and his/her age on arrival in the Grand Duchy, there are a number of options.

Classical secondary education

These classes are for pupils who have completed primary school with a good level in French and maths but are relatively weak in German. They offer extra teaching in the German language, the aim being to enable pupils to join an ordinary 4e ESC class (4th year of secondary education).

“ALLET” classes (German as a foreign language) (7e ESC - 5e ESC)

These classes are for pupils who have completed primary school with a good level in French and maths but are relatively weak in German. They offer extra teaching in the German language, the aim being to enable pupils to join an ordinary 4e ESC class (4th year of secondary education).

"Français Plus" classes (7e ESC - 5e ESC)

These classes are for pupils who have completed primary school with a good level in German and maths but are relatively weak in French. They offer extra teaching in the French language, the aim being to enable pupils to join an ordinary 4e ESC class (4th year of secondary education).

  • Enrolment directly with the school for pupils having completed primary school in the Grand Duchy
  • Information with the CASNA for newly arrived pupils
LVF Classes with French as main language (7e ESC - 5e ESC)

Unlike normal classes, where in most cases the subjects are taught in German, all subjects are taught in French in LVF classes of the classical secondary education. The level required in German is that of pupils having completed primary school (école fondamentale) in the Grand Duchy, and German is taught to the same standard as in normal classes.

The classes are intended for pupils who have completed primary school in the Grand Duchy but prefer to learn in French.

From the 4e ESC class onwards, pupils join an ordinary class, in which non-language subjects are in any case taught in French.

At Lycée Aline Mayrisch, gradual integration for 12- to 16-year-olds

The Lycée Aline Mayrisch offers gradual integration in classical secondary education in the Grand Duchy for young people between the ages of 12 and 16 who have been in primary and/or secondary education in another country.

Priority is given to personalised accompaniment in acquiring or improving language skills in Luxembourgish, French, German and/or English, the languages used for teaching.

The aim is to enable these young people to follow a ‘regular’ school career in the Grand Duchy’s secondary education system and to take advantage of the multilingualism.

  • Enrolment directly with the secondary school:

Admission d’élèves à contexte scolaire international

Admission for students from international school settings

Aufnahme von Jugendlichen mit internationaler Schulkarriere

  • Information with the CASNA for newly arrived pupils
International Baccalaureate

The course leading to the International Baccalaureate certificate (IB) is a classic baccalaureate course available at 3,500 secondary schools in 143 countries throughout the world. The certificate awarded on successful completion of the course available at the Lycée technique du Centre, at the Athénée de Luxembourg and at the Lycée Mathias Adam in Pétange is recognised under Luxembourg law as being equivalent to the diploma awarded on successful completion of secondary studies (diplôme de fin d’études secondaires). The course is intended for young people recently arrived in the Grand Duchy and to young people who have opted for secondary education taught in either French or English who are capable of success in secondary education at a high level. Most of the written examinations at the end of the course are marked externally, by a global network of 9,000 trained examiners.

See also : Offre scolaire internationale / International schooling

  • Direct enrolment with the high school :

Baccalauréat international en français au Lycée technique du Centre

Baccalauréat international en anglais à l'Athénée de Luxembourg

Baccalauréat international en français au Lycée Mathias Adam à Pétange

  • Information with CASNA for newly arrived students.
English-speaking international education

The International School Michel Lucius (LML) offers English-speaking classes that lead to the British diplomas (International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), Advanced Subsidiary level (AS-levels) and Advanced level (A-levels).

 

European public education

Several international public schools operate according to the curricula, promotion criteria and timetables of the European Schools system. They are open to all students, without tuition fees. They offer European secondary education (7 years), in French, English and German speaking sections leading up to the European Baccalaureate. These are:

The other sections, based on the mother tongues of the member countries of the European Union, are offered in European schools outside the public education system.

  • Enrolment directly with international schools

 

General secondary education
Welcome classes and insertion classes for newly arrived children aged 12 to 15 years

Children who arrive in the Grand Duchy with no French or German skills are enrolled in a class for newly arrived students (classe d’accueil), where they are taught French intensively and are introduced to Luxembourgish. The class council (conseil de classe) assesses each pupil’s skills and decides on the best time for him/her to join the most appropriate class, depending on his/her language skills and general level. About 20 secondary schools have classes of this type.

An integration class (classe d’insertion) is a class in the lower cycle (7e ESG, 6e ESG, 5e ESG classes – first three years) of general secondary education for those pupils who have achieved a very good academic level in their country of origin but have little knowledge of the languages taught in the Grand Duchy. They are taught French or German intensively (determined according to their level in the different languages). They are also taught the other subjects of the syllabus of the lower cycle of technical secondary education.
To be admitted to an insertion class, a pupil must pass the admission test.

 

Classes taught in French (7e ESG, 6e ESG, 5e ESG)

In French vehicular language (LVF) classes all subjects are taught in French, unlike regular classes, where subjects are, for the most part, taught in German.

The level required in German is the same as that of a pupil having completed primary school in the Grand Duchy, and German is taught to the same level as in normal classes.

This offer is intended for those children who have completed primary school in the Grand Duchy but prefer to learn in French.

From the 4e ESG class (fourth year) of general secondary education onwards, pupils join either a normal class or an RLS class (see below).

Integration classes for young people and adults

Integration classes for young adults for 16-year-olds (classes d’accueil pour jeunes adultes – CLIJA) and for 17- to 24-year-olds (CLIJA+) are classes for young adults recently arrived in the Grand Duchy. They provide basic training in French which opens up access to general secondary education or to social and economic independence.

The "9+ integration" classes offer flexible and personalised training for newly arrived adults (18 years and above, without age limit) who are proficient in English and the Latin alphabet, but who lack the required language and mathematics skills to integrate qualifying training. French is taught in intensive lessons. These classes are available at different locations depending on the needs.

  • Information with the CASNA for newly arrived pupils
Specific language classes (15 years+)

The upper level of general secondary education (students aged 15 and more), include classes with a specific language regime (RLS) for students with little or no knowledge of German. Subjects are taught in French. In some classes, German is taught as a foreign language. In the other subjects, the curriculum remains the same. In the upper classes of general secondary education, vocational training is offered in French at different levels :

  • Secondary school leaving diploma
  • Technician’s diploma (DT)
  • Diploma of professional competence (DAP)
  • Certificate of professional competence (CCP)

The list of high schools and available training courses is included in the leaflet Classes RLS.

Enrolment directly with the high school.

CLIJAA classes (CLIJAA professionnelle)

The Centres nationaux de formation professionnelle (CNFPC) in Ettelbruck and Esch-sur-Alzette, organise practice-oriented courses, mainly in form of workshops, focused on the practice, reinforcement and adaptation of French to various professions, as well as French and mathematics lessons. The terminology of the profession is a priority. French and mathematics courses complete the offer.

This path is aimed at young people aged 18 – 24, currently enrolled in CLIJA or CLIJAA understanding spoken language but with an insufficient command of French to be directed to a CCP at the end of the school year.

  • Enrolment with the CNFPC
  • Information with CASNA for newly arrived students.

The École nationale pour adultes (ENAD) organises CLIJA2 and CLIJA3 classes preparing students for the French or English Diplôme d'accès aux études supérieures (DAES).

Admission criteria for CLIJA2 :

  • French - beginner level B1 ;
  • English – beginner level B1 ;
  • Luxembourgish - beginner level A2 ;
  • Mathematics – level of 5th class ;
  • be at least 18 years old.
  • admission criteria for CLIJA3: English - level B1;
  • hold a secondary school leaving certificate not recognised in Luxembourg or stop one year before graduating;
  • be at least 18 years old.
    • Enrolment with ENAD
    • Information with CASNA for newly arrived students

The École d'hôtellerie et de tourisme du Luxembourg (EHTL) offers English and French classes. Note that students must have an A2 level in French or English (with basic knowledge in French) and literacy in the Latin alphabet to enrol.

Classes are aimed at young people under the age of 18 interested in the hospitality sector and more specifically in cooking, baking and service.

  • Enrolment directly with EHTL
  • Information with CASNA for newly arrived students. 

Last update

Klassischer Sekundarunterricht und allgemeiner Sekundarunterricht

 

Je nach Sprachkenntnissen des Schülers und seinem Alter bei der Ankunft in Luxemburg gibt es verschiedene Auswahlmöglichkeiten.

 

Klassischer Sekundarunterricht (ESC)

Im luxemburgischen Schulsystem ist der Zugang zum klassischen Sekundarunterricht im Prinzip den Schülern vorbehalten, die über gute Kenntnisse in Mathematik, Deutsch und Französisch verfügen. Für Schüler mit einer sehr guten schulischen Bildung, die jedoch nicht die nötigen Sprachkenntnisse haben, gibt es mehrere andere Möglichkeiten.

ALLET-Klassen (Deutsch als Fremdsprache) in der unteren Sekundarstufe (7. ESC - 5. ESC Klasse)

Die ALLET-Klassen nehmen Schüler auf, die die Grundschule mit guten Französisch- und Mathematikkenntnissen abgeschlossen haben, aber im Deutschen Lücken aufweisen. Sie bieten Förderkurse im Deutschen an, damit die Schüler ab der 4e Klasse des klassischen Sekundarunterrichts (4e ESC) eine normale Klasse besuchen können.

Französische Förderklassen „Français Plus“ (7. ESC - 5. ESC Klasse)

Zugang zu diesen Klassen haben Schüler, die die Grundschule mit guten Deutsch- und Mathematikkenntnissen abgeschlossen haben, aber im Französischen Lücken aufweisen. Sie bieten Förderkurse in Französisch an, damit die Schüler ab der 4e Klasse des klassischen Sekundarunterrichts (4e ESC) eine normale Klasse besuchen können.

LVF-Klassen mit Unterrichtssprache Französisch (7. ESC - 5. ESC Klasse)

In den unteren Klassen des klassischen Sekundarunterrichts werden die meisten Fächer in Deutsch unterrichtet; in LVF-Klassen ist die Unterrichtssprache Französisch. Die erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse orientieren sich an den Deutschkenntnissen eines Schülers, der die luxemburgische Grundschule abgeschlossen hat. Der Deutschunterricht entspricht dem Niveau der regulären Klassen.

Dieses Angebot richtet sich an Schüler aus der luxemburgischen Grundschule, die einen Unterricht in französischer Sprache bevorzugen.

Ab der 4e Klasse des klassischen Sekundarunterrichts (4e ESC) besucht der Schüler wieder eine reguläre Klasse, in der alle Kurse außer den Sprachkursen ohnehin in Französisch abgehalten werden.

Schrittweise Integration für 12- bis 16-jährige Schüler

Das Lycée Aline Mayrisch bietet Jugendlichen von 12 bis 16 Jahren, die die Grund- und/oder Sekundarschule im Ausland besucht haben, eine schrittweise Integration in den klassischen Sekundarunterricht an.

Der pädagogische Schwerpunkt liegt auf der individuellen Betreuung des Schülers beim Erlernen der Sprachen Luxemburgisch, Deutsch, Französisch und/oder Englisch, die auch Unterrichtssprachen sind, bzw. bei der Vertiefung dieser Sprachkenntnisse.

Ziel des Konzepts ist, den Jugendlichen zu ermöglichen, später „reguläre“ Klassen des luxemburgischen Sekundarunterrichts zu besuchen und von der Mehrsprachigkeit zu profitieren.

  • Direkte Einschreibung in der betreffenden Schule:

Aufnahme von Jugendlichen mit internationaler Schulkarriere

Admission d’élèves à contexte scolaire international

Admission for students from international school settings

  • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler
Internationales Abitur (IB)

Das IB-Diploma ist ein Abschluss des klassischen Unterrichtszweigs (Hochschulreife), der von 3500 Schulen in 143 Ländern angeboten wird. Das im Lycée technique du Centre und Athénée de Luxembourg angebotene Diplom ist ein gesetzlich anerkannter Sekundarabschluss, der dem „Diplôme de fin d’études secondaires“ gleichgestellt ist. Das IB wendet sich sowohl an Schüler, die neu zugezogen sind, sowie an Schüler, die einen französisch- oder englischsprachigen Sekundarunterricht gewählt haben und in der Lage sind, an einem Unterricht auf hohem Niveau teilzunehmen. Die schriftlichen Abschlussprüfungen unterliegen zum Großteil einer externen Evaluierung, die sich auf ein weltweites Netz von 9000 ausgebildeten Prüfern stützt.

Direkte Einschreibung in der betreffenden Schule:

Baccalauréat international in französischer Sprache am Lycée technique du Centre

Baccalauréat international in englischer Sprache am Athénée de Luxembourg

Baccalauréat international in französischer Sprache im Lycée Mathias Adam

  • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler
Internationaler englischsprachiger Unterricht

Die International School Michel Lucius (LML) bietet englischsprachige Klassen an, die zu den britischen Abschlussdiplomen führen [International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), Advanced Subsidiary level (AS-levels) und Advanced level (A-levels)].

Öffentlicher europäischer Unterricht

Mehrere öffentliche internationale Schulen funktionieren nach den Lehrplänen, den Versetzungskriterien und den Stundenplänen des Systems der Europäischen Schulen. Jeder Schüler kann sich hier kostenfrei einschreiben. Angeboten wird der europäische Sekundarunterricht (7 Jahre) in einer französisch-, englisch- und deutschsprachigen Sektion mit dem Europäischen Abitur als Abschluss. Die betreffenden Schulen sind:

Sektionen mit anderen Muttersprachen der EU-Mitgliedstaaten werden in Europäischen Schulen angeboten, die nicht zum öffentlichen Bildungssystem gehören.

  • Direkte Einschreibung bei den internationalen Schulen
  • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler
Allgemeiner Sekundarunterricht (ESG)
Aufnahmeklassen für neu zugezogene Schüler von 12 bis 15 Jahren

Schüler, die bei ihrer Ankunft in Luxemburg weder Deutsch- noch Französischkenntnisse besitzen, besuchen Aufnahmeklassen/ACCU (12 – 15 Jahre). Dort besuchen sie Intensivkurse in Französisch und Einführungskurse in Luxemburgisch. Der Klassenrat evaluiert die Kenntnisse des Schülers und entscheidet, wann er in eine Klasse integriert wird, die seinen sprachlichen Kompetenzen und seiner allgemeinen Schulbildung am besten entspricht. Rund 20 Sekundarschulen bieten diese Klassen an.

Eine Eingliederungsklasse ist eine Klasse der unteren technischen Sekundarschule (7. ESG, 6. ESG, 5. ESG Klasse) für Schüler, die in ihrem Herkunftsland ein gutes schulisches Niveau erreicht haben, jedoch die in Luxemburg unterrichteten Sprachen wenig oder gar nicht beherrschen. Sie bekommen dort Intensivunterricht in Französisch oder Deutsch (je nach Wissenslücken in der jeweiligen Sprache). Die anderen Fächer des Programms der Unterstufe des allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts werden ebenfalls unterrichtet.

Um in eine Eingliederungssklasse aufgenommen zu werden, muss der Schüler einen Aufnahmetest bestehen.

Es wird unterschieden zwischen:

Klassen mit Unterrichtssprache Französisch (LVF-Klassen) (7. ESG, 6. ESG, 5. ESG Klasse)

Während der Unterricht in den meisten Fächern in den unteren Klassen des Sekundarunterrichts in Deutsch abgehalten wird, wird in LVF-Klassen (classes LVF = langue véhiculaire français) in Französisch unterrichtet. Die erforderlichen Deutschkenntnisse orientieren sich an den Deutschkenntnissen eines Schülers, der die luxemburgische Grundschule abgeschlossen hat. Der Deutschunterricht entspricht dem Deutschunterricht regulärer Klassen.

Dieses Angebot richtet sich an Schüler aus der luxemburgischen Grundschule, die einen Unterricht in französischer Sprache bevorzugen.

Ab der 4. ESG Klasse des allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts besucht der Schüler eine reguläre Klasse oder eine Klasse mit einer speziellen Sprachenregelung (RLS-Klasse, classe à régime linguistique spécifique, siehe unten).

 

Integrationsklassen für junge Erwachsene

Die Integrationsklassen für junge Erwachsene (CLIJA für die 16- bis 17-Jährigen und CLIJA+ für die 18- bis 24-Jährigen) sind Sprachförderungsklassen für junge Erwachsene, die erst kürzlich in Luxemburg angekommen sind. Sie bieten eine Grundausbildung auf Französisch, um auf den allgemeinen Sekundarunterricht oder die soziale und wirtschaftliche Autonomie vorzubereiten.

Die Integrationsklassen ,,9+insertion“ wenden sich an Personen ab 18 Jahre (es gibt keine Altersbegrenzung), die über Grundkenntnisse in Englisch und Latein verfügen, jedoch nicht über die erforderlichen Sprach- und Mathematikkenntnisse verfügen, um in eine qualifizierende Ausbildung aufgenommen zu werden. Französisch wird intensiv unterrichtet. Diese Klassen werden je nach Bedarf an verschiedenen Standorten angeboten (siehe auch Erwachsenenbildung: 2. Bildungsweg).

  • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler
Klassen mit einer gesonderten Sprachenregelung für Schüler ab 15 Jahre, in denen Französisch Unterrichtssprache ist (RLS)

In der Oberstufe des allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts (Schüler ab 15 Jahre) gibt es Klassen mit einer gesonderten Sprachenregelung (classes RLS = régime linguistique spécifique) für Schüler, die über wenig oder keine Deutschkenntnisse verfügen. Der Unterricht findet auf Französisch statt, die deutsche Sprache wird gegebenenfalls als Fremdsprache unterrichtet (Anfänger oder Fortgeschrittene). Das Programm der anderen Fächer entspricht dem der regulären Klassen.

In den oberen Klassen des allgemeinen Unterrichts werden diese Ausbildungen in französischer Sprache auf unterschiedlichem Niveau angeboten:

  • Diplôme de fin d’études secondaires (Zeugnis der allgemeinen Hochschulreife)
  • Diplôme de technicien (DT) (Technikerdiplom)
  • Diplôme d’aptitude professionnelle (DAP) (Berufsbefähigungsdiplom)
  • Certificat de capacité professionnelle (CCP) (Berufsbefähigungszeugnis)
  • Eine Liste der Sekundarschulen und der angebotenen Ausbildungen befindet sich in der Broschüre Classes RLS.
  • Direkte Einschreibung in der Schule, die diese Ausbildung anbietet
Integrationsklassen (CLIJAA professionnelle) für die 18- bis 24-Jährigen

Die nationalen Zentren für berufliche Weiterbildung (Centres nationaux de formation professionnelle – CNFPC) in Ettelbrück und Esch-sur-Alzette organisieren praxisnahe Kurse, insbesondere in praxisorientierten Werkstätten. Im Französischen stehen berufsbezogene Französischkenntnisse und branchenspezifische Fachbegriffe im Mittelpunkt. Allgemeine Französischkurse sowie Mathematikkurse komplettieren das Angebot.

Diese Möglichkeit wendet sich an junge Leute zwischen 18 und 24 Jahren, die in einer CLIJA- oder CLIJAA-Klasse eingeschrieben sind und die gesprochene Sprache verstehen, deren Französischkenntnisse jedoch zu schwach sind, um am Ende des Schuljahres in eine CCP-Klasse orientiert werden zu können.

  • Einschreibung beim CNFPC
  • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler

Die École nationale pour adultes (Nationale Schule für Erwachsene – ENAD) organisiert CLIJA2- und CLIJA3-Klassen, die die Schüler auf das französische oder englische Diplom der Zugangsberechtigung für Höhere Studien vorbereiten (Diplôme d'accès aux études supérieures – DAES).

CLIJA2-Aufnahmekriterien:

  • Französisch – Niveaustufe B1 Anfänger
  • Englisch – Niveaustufe B1 Anfänger
  • Luxemburgisch – Niveaustufe A2 Anfänger
  • Mathematik – Niveaustufe Klasse 5e
  • Mindestalter 18 Jahre

CLIJA3-Aufnahmekriterien:

  • Englisch - Niveaustufe B1 abgeschlossen
  • im Besitz eines in Luxemburg nicht anerkannten Zeugnisses der allgemeinen Hochschulreife sein oder die Schule ein Jahr vor dem Schulabschluss verlassen haben
  • Mindestalter 18 Jahre
    • Einschreibung bei der ENAD
    • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler

Die École d'hôtellerie et de tourisme du Luxembourg (EHTL) bietet englisch- und französischsprachige Klassen an. Hierbei gilt es zu beachten, dass die Schüler das Niveau A2 in Französisch oder Englisch (mit Basiskenntnissen in Französisch) haben und die lateinische Schrift beherrschen müssen, um teilnehmen zu können.

Die Klassen wenden sich an junge Leute unter 18 Jahren, die sich für den HoReCa-Bereich und insbesondere die Bereiche Küche, Konditorei und Service interessieren.

    • Einschreibung bei der EHTL
    • Auskünfte bei der CASNA für neu zugezogene Schüler

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am