National observatory of school quality

The mission of the national observatory of school quality (Observatoire national de la qualité scolaire) is to evaluate and monitor the quality of education provided in the education system. It is an independent structure with an assessment role, providing an objective view of the education system.  The observatory systematically analyses the quality of the education system and the implementation of education policies. It does not assess the individual work of teachers but the organisation and functioning of schools, high schools and the departments of the ministry in charge of education.

Eight observers

The observatory is composed of eight observers from the public or the private sector. Their work is fully independent as far as their findings and recommendations are concerned.

To fulfil their missions the observers analyse the surveys and the results of national assessments as well as of international surveys regarding Luxembourg. The observatory may request the assistance of scientific experts, research institutions and universities: the University of Luxembourg, the Luxembourg Centre for Education Testing (LUCET), the SCRIPT (Service de coordination de la recherche et de l'innovation pédagogiques et technologiques). 

Meeting all the actors of the school system

As far as schools are concerned, the observers meet with directors, the school committee or the education board or other staff representation bodies as well as with other members of the school community. They agree with the director to be present during lessons or training situations to assess the pedagogical practice of the school.

The observers can also meet with the national representation bodies of parents, students, teachers and municipalities as well as of the professional chambers.

Public reports

The observatory submits an annual activity report and at least one thematic report on a priority field, as well as, a national report on the education system with its findings and recommendations every three years.

These reports are submitted to the Chambre of Deputies (Chambre des députés) and are published on the website of the ministry in charge of education.

Last update

Das Observatoire national de la qualité scolaire

Die Aufgaben des Observatoire national de la qualité scolaire bestehen darin, die Qualität des Unterrichts im Bildungswesen zu evaluieren und zu überwachen. Dieser unabhängigen Beobachtungsstelle kommt eine Expertenrolle zu; sie soll den Zustand des Schulsystems objektiv beurteilen. Das Observatoire evaluiert auf systemische Art und Weise die Qualität des Schulsystems und die Umsetzung bildungspolitischer Maßnahmen. Es geht also nicht um die Evaluierung einzelner Lehrkräfte, sondern um die Organisation und die Funktionsweise der Grund- und Sekundarschulen sowie der Dienststellen des Ministeriums, das für Bildung zuständig ist.

Acht Beobachter

 

Das Observatoire setzt sich aus acht Beobachtern aus dem öffentlichen Dienst und dem Privatsektor zusammen. Ihre Feststellungen und Empfehlungen entstammen einer komplett unabhängigen Arbeitsweise.

Zur Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben analysieren die Beobachter die Studien und Ergebnisse der nationalen Evaluierungen sowie der internationalen Studien über Luxemburg. Das Observatoire wird dabei von wissenschaftlichen Experten, Forschungsinstituten und Universitäten unterstützt (Universität Luxemburg, Luxembourg Centre for Educational Testing (LUCET), Service de coordination de la recherche et de l'innovation pédagogiques et technologiques (SCRIPT) …).

Einbeziehen aller Akteure des Bildungswesens

In den Schulen reden die Beobachter mit dem Direktor, dem Schulkomitee bzw. dem Bildungsrat, anderen Vertretern des Personals sowie anderen Mitgliedern der Schulgemeinschaft. Sie beraten sich mit dem Direktor, sind bei Kursen oder Lernsituationen zugegen, die die pädagogische Praxis der Schule illustrieren.

Die Beobachter können auch mit den nationalen Eltern-, Schüler, Studenten- und Lehrervertretern sowie den Berufskammern zusammenkommen.

Öffentliche Berichte

Das Observatoire erstellt jährlich einen Tätigkeitsbericht und mindestens einen thematischen Bericht über ein Schwerpunktthema sowie alle drei Jahre einen nationalen Bericht über das Schulsystem mit allen Feststellungen und Empfehlungen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am