School options

In addition to elementary state schools, available options include a private elementary school providing the same curriculum as state schools, private elementary schools providing a different curriculum while being subsidised by the State, as well as private-initiative schools not benefiting from subsidies.

State school options

Luxembourg has 157 elementary state schools spread over the 102 municipalities of the country.

Some of these elementary state schools provide alternative pedagogical approaches.

This is the case for the following schools:

Four international state schools operate according to the curricula, promotion criteria and schedules of the European school system. They are open to all pupils without tuition fees. They offer five years of European primary education in a French, English or German-speaking section. Students can then pursue secondary education leading to the European baccalaureate (see also below).

These schools are:

The International School Michel Lucius provides English-speaking classes at the elementary school level.

Private and international school options

The private school Notre-Dame (Sainte-Sophie) provides classes with the same curriculum as state schools as well as classes (at the level of “Petite Section de maternelle” at CM2) teaching the official French curricula.

The following private elementary schools teach a different curriculum than the official one while being subsidised by the state:

The pre-school and primary classes of the two European schools in Luxembourg, European School Luxembourg 1 (ESL1) in Kirchberg and European School Luxembourg 2 (ESL2) in Mamer complete this offer.

 

Last update

Offre scolaire

À côté des écoles fondamentales publiques, l’offre scolaire inclut une école fondamentale privée appliquant le même programme que les écoles publiques, des écoles fondamentales privées appliquant un autre programme tout en étant subventionnées par l’État, ainsi que des écoles relevant de l’initiative privée et ne bénéficiant pas de subventions.

Offre scolaire publique

Le Luxembourg compte 157 écoles fondamentales publiques réparties dans l’ensemble des 102 communes du pays.

Parmi les écoles fondamentales publiques, certaines proposent des approches pédagogiques alternatives.

C’est le cas des écoles suivantes :

  • Eis Schoul, école à pédagogie inclusive, à Luxembourg-Kirchberg,
  • Jean-Jaurès, école à journée continue, à Esch-sur-Alzette,
  • Villa Mirabella, école à journée continue à Wiltz.

Quatre écoles publiques internationales, , fonctionnent selon les programmes, les critères de promotion et les grilles horaires du système des écoles européennes. Elles sont ouvertes à tous les élèves, sans frais d’inscription. Elles proposent cinq années d'enseignement primaire européen dans les sections francophone, anglophone ou germanophone. Certaines écoles proposent également des classes de maternelle. Les élèves peuvent ensuite y poursuivre l'enseignement secondaire qui mène au baccalauréat européen (voir aussi ici).

Il s’agit de

Le Lycée Michel Lucius offre des classes anglophones au niveau de l'enseignement fondamental.

Offre scolaire privée et internationale

L’École privée Notre-Dame (Sainte-Sophie) offre des classes appliquant le même programme que les écoles publiques luxembourgeoises ainsi que des classes (de la Petite Section de maternelle au CM2) qui appliquent les programmes officiels français.

Les écoles fondamentales privées suivantes appliquent un autre programme que le programme officiel, tout en recevant des subventions de l’État :

À ces écoles s’ajoutent les classes maternelles et primaires des deux  Écoles européennes du Luxembourg : l’École européenne de Luxembourg I au Kirchberg et l’École européenne de Luxembourg II, à Mamer.

Dernière mise à jour