Help with homework for school children

 

As of the 2022-2023 school year, the childcare centre (maison relais), day-care centre (foyer scolaire) or parental assistant looking after your child will systematically organise a quality help-with-homework scheme for children in cycles 2 to 4 of primary school.

A suitable environment, a set time slot, a tool to connect with the teacher, definition of the role of the educational staff, parent information – all of these things come together to help your child to do their homework to the best of their ability.

By doing this, your child will consolidate what they have covered in class under good conditions and increase their chances of doing well at school. At the same time, you are relieved of a task that can weigh on your time and on family life.

How can you register your child for the help-with-homework scheme?

Help with homework is part of the services automatically provided to children in cycles 2 to 4 of primary school and who are registered with a childcare centre or looked after by a parental assistant. It is free of charge, as it counts as free care for children who attend school, during term time, from 7 a.m. to 7.00 p.m..

It is not necessary to register specifically for help for homework, but children must be registered at an education and childcare facility.

(However, before registering, please check that you have completed the procedure with the municipality in which you live to allow your child to benefit from the chèque-service accueil scheme.

 

Also see: Free early education and childcare: Making non-formal education accessible to all

What is homework?

Homework is a task or tasks set by the teacher that the pupil must complete outside of school time. These tasks include repetition, correction or revision exercises on subjects covered in class, with the aim of consolidating what pupils have learned. The most important thing is that pupils will always be able to do their homework independently.

What is the E-Bichelchen?

The Ministry has set up the E-Bichelchen, which is a digital class diary, to facilitate communication between teachers, childcare staff and you, the parents. The teacher writes the homework in the diary. Childcare staff, parental assistants and parents can also access it. This allows them to supervise the pupil, who ticks off the tasks as they are completed.

What is help with homework?

The childcare worker or parental assistant helps your child to organise their work and understand what they have to do, and checks with them that the homework has been completed.

If your child has any problems, the childcare worker or parental assistant writes a comment in the E-Bichelchen, the digital class diary. The teacher and you, the parents, then receive a notification to that effect.

Training is offered to educational staff in collaboration with the Institut de formation de l'Éducation nationale, so that they can provide help with homework to the best of their ability.

Help with homework is not...

The childcare worker or parental assistant does not correct homework. If a child is having problems with the subject, it is up to the teacher to explain it to them again.

Help with homework has nothing to do with teaching support, which is organised at school.

How is help with homework organised?

The teacher will explain the homework to your child in class.

After school, at the childcare centre (maison relais) or at the parental assistant's, your child can settle down to do their homework in peace and quiet and in a suitable environment. A one-hour time slot is set aside for help with homework from Monday to Thursday, or even Friday, depending on the facility.

Your child can take part in other activities once they have finished their homework.

Last update

Aide aux devoirs dans les structures d’éducation et d’accueil

À partir de l’année scolaire 2022-2023, la maison relais, le foyer scolaire ou l’assistant parental qui accueille votre enfant organisera systématiquement une aide aux devoirs à domicile de qualité pour les enfants scolarisés dans les cycles 2 à 4 de l’enseignement fondamental.

Environnement adapté, plage horaire fixe, outil de liaison avec l’enseignant, définition du rôle du personnel éducatif, information des parents - tous les éléments sont réunis pour permettre à votre enfant de réaliser au mieux ses devoirs.

Votre enfant consolide ainsi la matière vue en classe dans de bonnes conditions et augmente ses chances de réussite scolaire. En même temps, vous êtes soulagés d’une tâche qui peut peser sur votre emploi du temps et sur les relations au sein de la famille.

Comment inscrire votre enfant à l’aide aux devoirs ?

L’aide aux devoirs fait partie des prestations fournies d’office aux enfants scolarisés dans les cycles 2 à 4 de l’enseignement fondamental et inscrits dans une maison relais ou accueillis par un assistant parental. Elle est gratuite, puisqu’elle tombe sous la disposition d’accueil gratuit pour les enfants scolarisés pendant les semaines d’école, de 7.00 à 19.00h.

Une inscription spécifique à l’aide aux devoirs n’est pas nécessaire, mais une inscription auprès d’une structure d’éducation et d’accueil est indispensable.

(Veuillez cependant vérifier, avant de procéder à cette inscription, que vous avez effectué les démarches auprès de votre commune de résidence pour que votre enfant bénéficie du chèque-service accueil.

Voir aussi : Gratuité : l’éducation non formelle accessible à tous

Les devoirs à domicile, c’est quoi ?

Les devoirs à domicile sont des tâches confiées par l’enseignant, à réaliser par l’élève après les heures de cours. Ce sont des exercices de répétition, des corrections ou des révisions de sujets vus en classe, dans le but de consolider les apprentissages. L’essentiel étant qu’il puisse toujours réaliser ses devoirs de façon autonome.

Le E-Bichelchen, c’est quoi ?

Pour faciliter les échanges entre les enseignants, les éducateurs et vous, parents, le ministère a mis en place un journal de classe digital, le E-Bichelchen. L’enseignant y inscrit les devoirs à domicile. Les éducateurs, assistants parentaux et les parents y ont également accès. Cela leur permet de superviser l’élève qui y coche les tâches accomplies.

L’aide aux devoirs, c’est quoi ?

L’éducateur ou l’assistant parental aide votre enfant à organiser son travail, à comprendre la tâche à accomplir et vérifie avec lui que les devoirs sont effectués.

Si votre enfant rencontre des difficultés, l’éducateur ou l’assistant parental inscrit une remarque dans le journal de classe digital, l’E-Bichelchen. L’enseignant et vous-mêmes êtes alors prévenus par une notification.

Des formations sont proposées au personnel éducatif, en collaboration avec l’Institut de formation de l’Éducation nationale, pour assurer au mieux cette aide aux devoirs.

L’aide aux devoirs, ce n’est pas...

L’éducateur ou l’assistant parental ne corrige pas les devoirs. Si un enfant a des difficultés avec la matière, c’est le rôle de l’enseignant de la lui réexpliquer.

L’aide aux devoirs n’a rien à voir avec l’appui pédagogique de l’enseignant, organisé à l’école.

Comment est organisée l’aide aux devoirs ?

Votre enfant reçoit en classe les explications sur les contenus des devoirs à domicile.

Après l’école, dans la maison relais ou chez son assistant parental, il peut s’installer au calme dans un environnement adapté pour exécuter ses devoirs à domicile. Du lundi au jeudi, voire au vendredi selon les structures, un créneau horaire fixe d’une heure est prévu pour l’aide aux devoirs.

Une fois les devoirs terminés, votre enfant peut participer à d’autres activités.

Dernière mise à jour