What kind of education and childcare facilities are there for your child?

In Luxembourg there are several types of non-formal education facilities that welcome children aged, 0 to 12.  As parents, you can choose the facility to which you would like to entrust the care of your child, depending on availability. However, certain facilities accept only children who reside in the municipality or who attend school in that municipality.

Different types of non-formal education facilities

Education and childcare facilities (crèches (nurseries), childcare centres (maisons relais), day-care centres (foyers de jour), etc.) parental assistants and mini-crèches welcome:

·         children who do not go to school (aged 0 to 4) and/or

·         children who go to school (from the age of 3 or 4)

The vast majority of these facilities are subsidised by the State: some, which are subsidised, are not-for-profit organisations or facilities managed by municipalities; others are undertakings governed by private law.

Mini-crèches can accommodate up to 11 children between the ages of 0 and 12 simultaneously (with a maximum of four babies under the age of 1). They are managed by a team of two qualified people. This type of facility can provide children with a more family-style environment, with a limited number of caregivers and flexible opening hours, from 5 a.m. to 11 p.m..

Parental assistants look after children aged 0 to 12 in their own home, either during the day or at night. They are independent workers and may look after no more than 5 children at any given time, other than their own children. The Agence Dageselteren gives advice and information to parents who are looking for a parental assistant.

The various facilities must hold an accreditation issued by the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth based on the following criteria: respectability, staff qualifications, staff ratio, services being provided, equipment and infrastructure.

Parents can register directly with the facility, mini-crèche or parental assistant. The admission criteria are set by the managers. For each child admitted, a contract is signed by the education and childcare facility and the parents.

Choose an education and childcare facility for your child

Below you will find the contact details of education and childcare facilities, mini-crèches and parental assistants. The education and childcare facilities and the mini-crèches themselves complete the Description, Educational Project, Activities, etc. fields, which accompany their form:

Choose an education and childcare facility

Last update

Quelle structure d’éducation et d’accueil pour votre enfant ?

Au Luxembourg, il existe plusieurs types de structures d’éducation non formelle qui accueillent les enfants, de 0 à 12 ans. En tant que parents, vous pouvez choisir la structure à laquelle vous souhaitez confier votre enfant, en fonction des places disponibles. Certaines structures n’acceptent cependant que les enfants qui résident dans la commune ou qui sont scolarisés dans l’école de cette commune.

Différents types de structures d’éducation non formelle

Les services d’éducation et d’accueil (crèches, maisons relais, foyers de jour, etc.) les assistants parentaux et les mini-crèches accueillent :

  •         les enfants non scolarisés (de 0 à 4 ans) et/ou
  •         les enfants scolarisés (à partir de 3 ou 4 ans)

L'immense majorité des structures sont subventionnées par l'État : les unes, dites conventionnées, sont des associations sans but lucratif ou des structures gérées par des communes ; les autres sont des entreprises de droit privé.

La mini-crèche peut accueillir simultanément jusqu’à 11 enfants âgés entre 0 et 12 ans (dont au maximum quatre bébés de moins d’un an). Elle est gérée par une équipe de deux personnes qualifiées. Cette organisation permet d’offrir aux enfants un environnement plus familial, avec un nombre limité de personnes de référence et une flexibilité dans les horaires, de 5 h à 23 h.

L’assistant parental accueille les enfants de 0 à 12 ans, à son domicile, en journée ou pendant la nuit. Cette activité est exercée sous le statut d’indépendant. L'assistant parental peut prendre en charge au maximum 5 enfants à la fois, en dehors de ses propres enfants. L’Agence Dageselteren conseille et informe les parents à la recherche d’un assistant parental.

Les différentes structures doivent être détentrices d’un agrément délivré par le ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse sur la base de critères d’honorabilité, de qualification du personnel, du ratio d’encadrement, de prestations à offrir, de l’aménagement et des infrastructures.

Les inscriptions se font directement auprès du service, de la mini-crèche ou de l’assistant parental. Les gestionnaires définissent eux-mêmes les critères d’admission. Pour chaque enfant admis, un contrat est signé entre la structure d’éducation et d’accueil et les parents.

Choisissez une structure d'éducation et accueil pour votre enfant

Vous trouvez ci-dessous les coordonnées des services d’éducation et d’accueil, des mini-crèches et des assistants parentaux. Les structures d’éducation et d’accueil ainsi que les mini-crèches renseignent elles-mêmes les champs Description, Projet pédagogique, Activités etc. qui accompagnent leur fiche :

Choisissez une structure d’éducation et d'accueil

Dernière mise à jour