Educational and vocational guidance

At different times of their life students must be able to choose the right path for their studies and training or their future professional activities.

Current policy in this matter is based on two definitions:

« Guidance refers to a series of activities that allow the citizen, at any time in his/her life, to identify his/her abilities, skills and interests, to make informed decisions for the choice of his/her studies and training as well as for his/her professional activities and this with the joint concern to support both the development of his/her personality and of the society. » (FORUM Orientation)

«Guidance accompanies and emphasises lifelong learning and helps individuals avoid or shorten periods of unemployment. High quality educational and vocational guidance not only support the personal development and the chances of finding a job of an individual, they contribute more generally to a broader and more sustained social and economic development. » (Association internationale de l’orientation scolaire et professionnelle)

In the Luxembourg education system, guidance decisions are taken at various levels. In elementary school, a first orientation decision is made at the end of cycle 4, between classical secondary education and general secondary education (see also Transition from primary education to classical secondary education and general secondary education).

Later in high school, students will choose a specialisation based on their results and interests. Every school is required to develop a guidance approach to help students make the choices that match their profile and offer the best chances of success. Other services may also be consulted in a complementary way. Most of them are grouped within the Maison de l’orientation.

High schools provide support for their students at the level of their education and professional orientation.

Every high school implements a school development plan, in which it defines, among others, an orientation approach adapted to its school population. The goal is to help students make the relevant choices that match their profile and ensure the best chances of success.

Guidance in high school

Throughout secondary education a series of orientation, information and counselling activities are offered in high schools as well as at the national and regional level:

  • information and counselling :
    • publications and information material ;
    • websites ;
    • information on higher education and the job market;
    • events such as the student fair;
    • information sessions for students and parents of a class or high school;
    • discussions with graduates from the various sections.
  • At the level of support and design of a training project :
    • pedagogic projects in a class or in all classes of the same year;
    • tutorial programmes in some high schools;
    • education of choices ;
    • individual meetings ;
    • individual support, psychological tests and the design of professional projects.

In parallel, supplements to the transcripts in the lower classes help students become aware of their skills and potentials.

Some activities focus more particularly on professional choices:

  • Work placement, more specifically at the end of the class of 5e of general secondary education;
  • Information and raising awareness for trades and professions :
    • a documentation centre on trades and professions (BiZ – Beruffsinformatiouns-Zentrum) ;
    • websites (e.g. www.anelo.lu);
    • events ;
    • discussions with representatives of companies or graduates in various professions ;
    • short-term work placements (e. g. Job Shadow Day) ;
    • visits in companies ;
    • development of entrepreneurship (Jonk Entrepreneuren).
SePAS in high schools and CePAS

Every high school has a SePAS (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires), with a multidisciplinary team (psychologists, social workers, social pedagogue, education and career counsellors). Activities include psychological, psycho-pedagogical and social support for students, prevention (addiction, violence, AIDS, school dropout, etc.), mediation between partners of the school (students, parents, professors, official bodies...).

All the SePAS work closely  with external actors to promote integration in the professional world and in society.

All the SePAS are supported by the CePAS (Centre psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires).

Antennes locales pour jeunes (ALJ - local centres for young people)

The Antennes locales pour jeunes (ALJ) are part of the Service national de la jeunesse (SNJ) and their mission is to support young people in their transition from school to professional life. They can be found on 11 sites throughout the country so as to be close to  young people and their realities. Their staff is specialised in providing support for young people and implementing measures allowing them to find a new activity.

They are mostly targeting young people, who:

  • are still schooled but about to leave school without having a specific project ;
  • dropped out of school without a qualification.

 The ALJ provides :

  • advice and information on training offers and professional life ;
  • individual coaching in order to integrate studies or professional life;
  • alternatives to inactivity.

Further details can be found here (FR / LB).    

Voluntary service of the SNJ

The Voluntary service allows young people under the age of 30 to become active in the context of a specific project of general interest. It is an opportunity for them to learn and decide on their orientation while gaining practical experience during a fixed-term full-time activity. The minimum duration is 3 months while the maximum duration may, in principle, not exceed 12 months. For some programmes, activities take place in Luxembourg, for others in Europe or even outside Europe.

Centre de documentation et d'information sur l'enseignement supérieur (CEDIES)

As a department of the Ministry of Higher Education and Research, the target public of the CEDIES is composed of high school students, future students, students and persons who wish to enrol in higher education.

The department University information provides information on higher studies and professions as well as on the admission terms and enrolment procedures of universities.

The department Financial subsidies manages the financial support offered by the government for higher studies.

Service d’orientation professionnelle of ’ADEM (ADEM-OP)

The Service d’orientation professionnelle of the Agence pour le développement de l’emploi ADEM (employment agency) offers individual guidance sessions and collective information sessions for young people and adults to help them choose an appropriate professional path. It manages the Centre d'Information professionnelle / BiZ - Beruffsinformatiouns-Zentrum, providing a large number of media. Adem-OP is also in charge of finding initial apprenticeship/adult vocational opportunities.

La Maison de l’orientation

The Maison de l’orientation is a one-stop shop for most of the public services in charge of orientation, improving access to information and individual support.

  • The Centre psycho-social et d’accompagnement scolaires (CePAS) supports students who require diversified psycho-social care and support and has developed various tools (workshops, creative spaces, intervention groups, alternative learning methods, etc.) to promote the well-being of students in their school environment.

Phone. : (+352) 247-75910
E-mail : info@cepas.lu

Phone : (+352) 247-85480
E-mail : info.op@adem.public.lu

Regional office in Luxembourg :
Phone : (+352) 247-75941, (+352) 247-75942, (+352) 247-75943, (+352) 247-75944
E-mail : alj@men.lu

  • The Service national de la jeunesse (SNJ) enables young people go gain practical experience during a voluntary service.

Phone  : (+352) 247-86481, (+352) 247-86480
E-mail : secretariat.transitions@snj.etat.lu

  • The Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux-arrivants (CASNA) is available for students aged between 12 and 17 who have just arrived in Luxembourg and want to enrol in a Luxembourg high school.

Phone : 247-85277
E-mail : casna@men.lu

At the same location, FAPEL informs about the cooperation between parents and schools.

Last update

Schulische und berufliche Orientierung

 

Zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten in seinem Leben muss sich der Schüler für den ihm am geeignetsten erscheinende Weg entscheiden können, was eventuelle Studien, Ausbildungen oder die zukünftigen beruflichen Aktivitäten betrifft.

Für die aktuelle Politik sind besonders folgende Definitionen des Begriffs der Orientierung wichtig:

„Die Orientierung bezieht sich auf eine Reihe von Aktivitäten, die es jedem Bürger zu jedem Zeitpunkt seines Lebens erlauben, seine Fähigkeiten, Kompetenzen und Interessen zu identifizieren, begründete Entscheidungen zu treffen, was die Wahl seiner Studien und Ausbildungen wie auch seiner beruflichen Aktivitäten betrifft, und zwar im Hinblick auf die persönliche Entwicklung und Entfaltung, aber auch mit dem Ziel, einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung der Gesellschaft zu leisten.“ (FORUM Orientation)

„Die Orientierung begleitet und fördert das lebenslange Lernen und hilft dem Einzelnen, nicht arbeitslos zu werden bzw. Perioden der Arbeitslosigkeit auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Eine qualitativ hochwertige schulische und berufliche Orientierung beschränkt sich nicht darauf, die persönliche Entwicklung zu unterstützen und die Chancen auf einen Arbeitsplatz eines Einzelnen zu verbessern, sie trägt im Ganzen zu einer anhaltenderen und breiteren wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung bei.“ (Association internationale de l’orientation scolaire et professionnelle)

Im Luxemburger Schulsystem gibt es verschiedene Etappen, nach deren Abschluss eine Orientierung notwendig wird. In der Grundschule findet eine erste Orientierung am Ende des 4. Zyklus statt, entweder in den klassischen Sekundarunterricht oder den allgemeinen Sekundarunterricht (siehe Wechsel von der Grundschule in die Sekundarschule – Übergang von der Grundschule zur Sekundarschule).

In der Sekundarschule sollen die Schüler auf der Basis ihrer schulischen Ergebnisse und Interessen ihre Spezialisierung wählen. Jede Schule muss eine Orientierungsprozedur ausarbeiten, damit jeder Jugendliche eine für ihn sinnvolle Wahl treffen kann: Sie soll seinem Profil entsprechen und ihm die bestmöglichen Chancen auf Erfolg garantieren. Es können zusätzlich noch andere Dienststellen zu Rate gezogen werden. Die meisten sind in der Maison de l’orientation zusammengeschlossen.

Die Sekundarschulen bieten ihren Schülern eine schulische und berufliche Orientierung an.

Jede Sekundarschule muss einen Schulentwicklungsplan (PDS) ausarbeiten, in dem u. a. eine Orientierungsprozedur definiert wird, die der jeweiligen Schulbevölkerung entspricht. Diese Prozedur soll jedem Schüler dabei helfen, eine Wahl zu treffen, die seinem Profil entspricht und ihm die bestmöglichen Chancen auf Erfolg garantiert.

Die Orientierung in der Sekundarschule

Während der gesamten Sekundarschulzeit werden in den Sekundarschulen sowie auf nationaler und regionaler Basis Orientierungs-, Informations- und Beratungsaktivitäten angeboten.

  • Information und Beratung:
    • Veröffentlichungen und Informationsmaterial
    • Internetseiten
    • Informationen über Hochschulstudien und Arbeitsmarkt
    • Veranstaltungen wie die „Foire de l’étudiant“
    • Informationsveranstaltungen für Schüler einer Klasse oder einer Schule und deren Eltern
    • Gespräche mit den Absolventen verschiedener Studiengänge
  • Begleitung und Ausarbeitung von Weiterbildungsprojekten:
    • pädagogische Projekte, die in einer Klasse oder allen Klassen einer Stufe durchgeführt werden
    • Tutoratsprogramme in einigen Sekundarschulen
    • Bildungs- und Berufsberatung
    • individuelle Beratungen
    • eine individuelle Begleitung, psychologische Tests und Ausarbeitung beruflicher Projekte

Parallel dazu helfen die Zusatzzeugnisse (compléments aux bulletins) in der Unterstufe den Schülern, sich ihrer Kompetenzen und ihres Potenzials bewusst zu werden.

Einige Aktivitäten sind besonders auf die Berufswahl ausgerichtet:

  • Praktika in Unternehmen, insbesondere am Ende der 5e des allgemeinen Sekundarunterrichts
  • Information und Sensibilisierung für Handwerks- und andere Berufe
 
SePAS (Sekundarschulen) und CePAS

In jeder Sekundarschule gibt es einen Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires (SePAS), der aus einem interdisziplinären Team besteht (Psychologen, Sozialarbeiter, Erzieher, Lehrer, die als Schul- und Berufsberater fungieren). Zu den Aktivitäten des SePAS gehören die psychologische, psychopädagogische und soziale Betreuung des Schülers, die Prävention (Sucht-, Gewalt- und AIDS-Prävention, Verhinderung des Schulabbruchs usw.), die Mediation zwischen den Partnern der Schule (Schüler, Eltern, Lehrer, offizielle Instanzen …).

Die SePAS-Teams arbeiten eng mit externen Akteuren zusammen, um den jungen Leuten den Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt zu erleichtern und ihnen zu helfen, in der sozialen Wirklichkeit Fuß zu fassen.

Die einzelnen SePAS werden vom Centre psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires (CePAS) unterstützt.

Antennes locales pour jeunes (ALJ)

Die Antennes locales pour jeunes (ALJ) gehören zum Service national de la jeunesse (SNJ). Ihre Aufgabe besteht darin, Jugendlichen beim Übergang vom schulischen Leben zum Berufsleben zur Seite zu stehen. Die ALJ haben 11 Büros im Land und sind somit den Jugendlichen und ihren Realitäten nahe. Die Mitarbeiter sind spezialisiert in der Betreuung von Jugendlichen und der Umsetzung von Programmen, die sie zu einem aktiven Leben ermutigen.

Die ALJ unterstützen Jugendliche,

  • die noch in der Schule sind, aber diese bald verlassen werden und noch nicht wissen, wie ihr weiterer Weg aussehen soll;
  • die Schule ohne Abschluss abgebrochen haben.

Die ALJ bieten den jungen Menschen

  • Ratschläge und Informationen über mögliche Ausbildungen und das Berufsleben;
  • eine individuelle Begleitung im Hinblick auf weitere Studien oder das Berufsleben;
  • Alternativen zur Inaktivität.

Die Angebote der ALJ.

Freiwilligendienst des SNJ

 

Der Freiwilligendienst erlaubt es jungen Leuten unter dreißig, sich für ein konkretes Projekt im allgemeinen Interesse zu engagieren. So können sie etwas Neues lernen und sich durch praktische Erfahrungen orientieren. Beim Freiwilligendienst handelt es sich um eine zeitlich begrenzte Vollzeitaktivität von mindestens drei Monaten bis höchstens einem Jahr. Je nach Programm finden die Aktivitäten in Luxemburg statt (SVO, SVCi), in Europa oder anderswo in der Welt.

 

Centre de documentation et d'information sur l'enseignement supérieur (CEDIES)

Das CEDIES gehört zum Ministerium für Hochschulwesen und Forschung und wendet sich an Sekundarschüler, zukünftige Studenten, Studenten und Personen, die ihre Hochschulstudien wieder aufnehmen möchten.

Die Abteilung Informations universitaires (Informationen zu Universitäten) informiert über Hochschulstudien und Berufe, Zulassungsbedingungen und Einschreibemodalitäten an den Universitäten.

Die Dienststelle Aides financières verwaltet die staatlichen Studienbeihilfen.

Berufsberatung der ADEM (ADEM-OP)

Die Berufsberatung der Arbeitsagentur ADEM (Service d’orientation professionnelle de l’ADEM – ADEM-OP) bietet Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen individuelle Orientierungsgespräche und kollektive Informationsveranstaltungen an, um sie bei ihrer Berufswahl zu unterstützen. Zur Berufsberatung der ADEM gehört auch das BiZ – Berufsinformationszentrum, das eine große Auswahl an Medien zur Verfügung stellt. Die ADEM-OP vermittelt auch Lehrstellen im Rahmen der beruflichen Erstausbildung und Erwachsenenbildung.

La Maison de l’orientation

Die Maison de l’orientation fasst unter einem Dach die meisten der für die Berufsorientierung zuständigen staatlichen Dienststellen zusammen. Sie erleichtert so den Zugang zur Information und zu einer persönlichen Unterstützung.

  • Das Centre psycho-social et d’accompagnement scolaires (CePAS) übernimmt die Betreuung von Schülern, die eine umfassende Begleitung und psycho-soziale Unterstützung brauchen und hat zu dem Zweck verschiedene Werkzeuge (Workshops, kreative Räume, Interventionsgruppen, alternative Lernmethoden usw.) entwickelt, damit sich die Schüler im schulischen Umfeld wohlfühlen.

Tel.: (+352) 247-75910
E-Mail: info@cepas.lu

Tel.: (+352) 247-85480
E-Mail: info.op@adem.public.lu

  • Die Antennes locales pour jeunes (ALJ) bieten eine individuelle Unterstützung an bei der Umsetzung schulischer oder beruflicher Projekte.

Regionalbüro Luxemburg:
Tel.: (+352) 247-75941, (+352) 247-75942, (+352) 247-75943, (+352) 247-75944
E-Mail: alj@men.lu

  • Der Service national de la jeunesse (SNJ) ermöglicht es jungen Leuten, praktische Erfahrungen im Rahmen des Freiwilligendienstes zu sammeln.

Antenne Centre
Tel.: (+352) 247-86481, (+352) 247-86480
E-Mail: secretariat.transitions@snj.etat.lu

Tel.: 247-85277
E-Mail: casna@men.lu

  • Im gleichen Haus kann man bei Anefore Informationen zu europäischen Aus- und Weiterbildungsprogrammen einholen. FAPEL informiert über die Kooperation zwischen Schülereltern und Schule.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am