Organisation and governance

In Luxembourg, decisions regarding education are essentially taken at national level by the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth (with the exception of higher education for which the Ministry of Higher Education and Research is competent.

Hence, the general objectives of public education, the curricula, certificates and diplomas, access to studies, the status and administration of school staff are subject to a centralised management.

In elementary education, schools are organised (distribution of pupils in the classes, schedule, etc.) and managed at local level, i.e. by the 106 municipalities.  The municipalities are also involved in monitoring the actions and results of the schools. They are funding the building and the equipment of elementary schools. Teachers are appointed by the State and allocated to the municipalities; they are paid by the State.

In classical secondary education and general secondary education, the local level (municipalities) are not involved in the administration of schools. The reporting line goes directly from the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth to the high school management. Teachers are appointed and paid by the State.

Last update

Organisation und Durchführung

In Luxemburg trifft das Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend alle Entscheidungen im Bildungsbereich (mit Ausnahme des Hochschulunterrichts, der in den Zuständigkeitsbereich des Ministeriums für Hochschulwesen und Forschung fällt).

Die Zielsetzungen der öffentlichen Schule, die Programme, Bescheinigungen und Diplome, der Zugang zu Hochschulstudien, das Personalstatut und das Personal fallen unter eine zentrale Verwaltung.

Für die Organisation der Grundschule (Verteilung der Schüler auf die Klassen, Stundenpläne usw.) sind die 106 Gemeinden zuständig. Die Gemeinden kümmern sich auch um die Schulentwicklungsmaßnahmen und die schulischen Ergebnisse, sie übernehmen die Kosten für die Schulinfrastrukturen und die Ausstattung. Die Lehrkräfte werden vom Ministerium ernannt und den Gemeinden zugeteilt. Der Staat übernimmt die Gehälter.

Die Verwaltung der klassischen und allgemeinen Sekundarschulen obliegt nicht den kommunalen Instanzen; die Sekundarschulen unterstehen direkt dem Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend. Die Lehrkräfte werden vom Staat ernannt und bezahlt.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am