Competence centres

The competence centres for specialised psycho-educational follow-up (Centres de compétences en psycho-pédagogie spécialisée - CC) are for pupils with specific needs and their parents who wish to receive specialised services in addition to the services provided by elementary or secondary education.

 

In which fields are the competence centres active?

 

There are eight competence centres and one agency in the Grand Duchy. They specialise in dealing with the specific needs pupils may have. They are active in clearly defined fields:

 

 

What support measures are available to help your child?

Various types of assistance are offered at the competence centres in order to meet the pupil's needs:

  • Specialised diagnosis: the competence centres carry out specialised diagnoses which allow to identify exactly the specific needs of pupils and help set up measures matched to these needs.
  • Advice and follow-up: The competence centres advise and support parents, the education teams in schools, and other approved services in dealing with pupils with specific needs.
  • Rehabilitation and therapy: the competence centres offer rehabilitation and therapy sessions according to pupils' needs.
  • Individualised education plan (plan éducatif individualisé - PEI):  the specialists at the competence centres draw up an inividual educational plan for each pupil. They adapt the regular curriculum or syllabus to the pupil's specific abilities and needs.
  • Specialised ambulatory intervention (intervention spécialisée ambulatoire - ISA): in addition to the measures set up in elemetary and secondary schools, staff from the competence centres intervene in the classroom to assist pupils with specific needs, in close collaboration with the school's staff .
  • Special schooling in a class at a competence centre: pupils with specific needs may attend a class at a competence centre, either full-time or alternating with attendance at a primary or secondary school. Classes may be organised either in one of the decentralised annexes of a competence centre or at an elementary or secondary school in the form of cohabitation classes;
  • Learning workshops: the competence centres may offer learning workshops specifically designed to meet pupils' needs. These learning workshops complement regular schooling and are organised either at one of the decentralised annexes of a competence centre, or at an elementary or secondary school, or at any other appropriate venue.
Who can you contact?

Most parents and pupils with specific needs contact

 

They may also contact the competence centres for specific advice or to obtain a specialist diagnosis.

 

With the agreement of the parents or adult pupils concerned, the inclusion commissions (CI) and the school inclusion commissions (CIS) may pass a request for specialist care to the national inclusion commission (CNI). As a rule, the CNI asks one or more of the competence centres to draw up a specialist diagnosis.  As appropriate, it proposes that the pupil with specific needs be cared for by one or more of the competence centres. No care may be provided without the agreement of the parents or the adult pupil.

 

 

Last update

Centres de compétences

Les Centres de compétences en psycho-pédagogie spécialisée (CC) s’adressent aux élèves à besoins spécifiques et à leurs parents qui souhaitent bénéficier de prestations spécialisées, en complément des prestations qui sont offertes par l’enseignement fondamental ou l’enseignement secondaire.

Quels sont les domaines dans lesquels interviennent les Centres de compétences ?

Il existe au Luxembourg 8 Centres de compétences et une agence. Ils sont spécialisés pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques que les élèves peuvent présenter. Ils interviennent dans des domaines bien définis :

Quelles mesures existe-t-il pour aider votre enfant ?

Différentes mesures d’aides sont proposées dans les Centres de compétences (CC) pour répondre aux besoins de l’élève :

  • Le diagnostic spécialisé : les Centres de compétences réalisent des diagnostics spécialisés qui permettent d’identifier précisément les besoins spécifiques des élèves et qui aident à mettre en place les mesures adaptées à ces besoins.
  • Le conseil et le suivi : les Centres de compétences conseillent et soutiennent les parents, les équipes éducatives des écoles et lycées ou d’autres services agréés, dans la prise en charge des élèves à besoins spécifiques.
  • La rééducation et la thérapie : les Centres de compétences offrent des sessions de rééducation et de thérapie en fonction des besoins des élèves.
  • Le plan éducatif individualisé (PEI) : les professionnels spécialisés des Centres de compétences établissent pour chaque élève un plan éducatif individualisé. Ils adaptent ainsi le plan d’études respectivement le programme régulier aux capacités et besoins spécifiques de l’élève.
  • L’intervention spécialisée ambulatoire (ISA) : en complément des mesures mises en place dans les écoles et lycées, les professionnels des Centres de compétences interviennent en classe auprès des élèves à besoins spécifiques, en collaboration étroite avec le personnel des écoles et lycées.
  • La scolarisation spécialisée dans une classe d’un Centre de compétences : les élèves à besoins spécifiques peuvent fréquenter une classe d’un Centre de compétences, soit à temps plein, soit en alternance avec la fréquentation d’une école fondamentale ou d’un lycée. Les classes peuvent être organisées soit dans une des annexes décentralisées d’un Centre de compétences, soit dans une école ou un lycée sous forme de classes de cohabitation ;
  • Les ateliers d’apprentissage : les Centres de compétences peuvent proposer des ateliers d’apprentissage pour répondre de façon spécifique aux besoins des élèves. Les ateliers d’apprentissage complètent l’offre scolaire régulière et sont organisés soit dans une des annexes décentralisées d’un Centre de compétences, soit dans une école ou un lycée ou dans un autre lieu adapté.
À qui pouvez-vous vous adresser ?

Le plus souvent, les parents ou les élèves à besoins spécifiques s’adressent

Ils peuvent aussi s’adresser aux Centres de compétences (annuaire) pour avoir des conseils circonstanciés ou pour obtenir un diagnostic spécialisé.

En accord avec les parents ou avec les élèves majeurs concernés, les commissions d’inclusion (CI) et les commissions d’inclusion scolaire (CIS) peuvent transmettre une demande de prise en charge spécialisée à la Commission nationale d’inclusion (CNI) (annuaire). En général, la CNI demande à un ou plusieurs Centres de compétences d’établir un diagnostic spécialisé. Le cas échéant, elle propose une prise en charge de l’élève à besoins spécifiques par un ou plusieurs Centres de compétences. Cette prise en charge ne peut se faire sans l’accord des parents ou de l’élève majeur.

Dernière mise à jour